Reflection Before Resolution

December 29, 2014

   I'm thinking about the New Year and wondering what new goals to set or changes to make in 2015. I used to imagine making huge changes but I've gotten wiser, thankfully. By investing in a small lifestyle change in the coming year you can end up with a new good habit that can help you improve your health, fitness, productivity, relationships and happiness. It’s all about sticking with these small changes for the long run and steadily improving over time. Small shifts now can end up being profound down the road.


   For me, growing and expanding my work and home life has been both a challenge and reward. I love what I do for people with personal training – sharing my passion and teaching others how they, too, can be stronger, healthier and incorporate small changes to make a better quality of life for themselves. Sharing my home with another person after a few years of living alone has allowed me to grow personally and emotionally. It's reminded me that relationships are just like working out: you have to give them regular attention to be successful.

   So, pick a moment or thing you did that you're proud of in the recent past. It doesn't matter what it was or how long it took. Did the change make you a better and, more importantly, a happier person? Ahh success! What about something you did for others that made a difference in their life. How did that make you feel? Another success. Is exercise now a part of your daily routine? Did you volunteer to help others for a worthy cause? Did you make your relationships and time with your partner or children a priority? Did you honor your own needs and make you a priority, too?

   As we mature our priorities shift and change. Acknowledging those changes is just a part of growing no matter how old we are. Maybe you used to run marathons but worn out hips and bad knees prevent you from doing it now. Well, what about a 5k power walk? Or, maybe traditional aerobics is too stressful on those joints. What about trying chair aerobics or cycling? These are small ways you can still accomplish something while understanding that the body just ain't what it used to be.

   Volunteering is another highly satisfying activity. It can mean spending lots of time organizing, planning and helping. But, babysitting or helping a school age child with their homework or driving the senior bus can be just as rewarding, too. In my small town of Cambria there is always room for more volunteers.


   My process of reflection goes something like this. I first try to get clarity. You must understand exactly what you want and what matters most to you – what you’ll give up something for. I give myself time. It generally doesn't emerge right away. Sometimes it requires peeling away the layers to understand what is meaningful both personally and specifically.

   Once I know what I want, I have to be strong enough to establish boundaries and by that I mean, to keep myself disciplined to stay on my path, honor my priorities, and communicate what’s necessary to succeed and grow in whatever it is I want to do.

   Perhaps the most important ingredient is reliability. We all know that being reliable is a key to being successful in school, at work and in relationships. And then there's being reliable to oneself. That's called commitment. It takes believing that you can create positive movement in your life be it work or home. It doesn’t mean that you should continue on your course blindly, crashing into the rocks without modifying your course. It's great to have a plan but neurotic to cling to a plan that needs adjusting or changing.

   When you need help, ask for it before it’s too late. If something's not working take a time out and examine it. You commit yourself to your goals without doubt, without reservation, and do what’s required, while at the same time learning to be flexible knowing the outcome sometime isn't what you expected.

   Create new friendships with those who are like-minded or who are learning a new skill. My most successful changes in habits around things like aerobics or cycling came when I was able to do these activities in a group. It wasn't just a group but a support system that helped me achieve my goals. Even the bit of socializing before or after a workout was a way to share experiences and reinforce my commitment to just show up.

   At one point you’ll look back and be amazed at how big of an impact these small changes have made.

Do something now that will make the person you’ll be tomorrow proud. 
                                                                                     ~Author unknown